How To: Manage Opt Outs (for Practices)

How To: Manage Opt Outs (for Practices)

Patients can opt in or out of communications from your practice at any time. For detailed instructions on how patients can manage their own communication preferences, please see How To: Manage Communication Opt Outs (for Patients).

Adit's granular, message-level text and email customization gives you and your patients complete control over their preferences and maximum flexibility to communicate on a level that works for each patient. Text preferences are managed on the phone number level, so editing the preferences for one patient will apply to all patients who use the same phone number, such as a parent and their children.

Opting a patient out of any communications will also opt out ALL other patients who share the same mobile phone number.

In addition to giving patients control of their message preferences, your office staff can also view and make changes to your patients’ preferences on their behalf.  Information about a patient’s opt-in/out choices is stored in the Patient Card. In Engage, you can see and manage a patient's preferences and see a log of each time changes have been made to that patient's communication preferences.

To manage a patient's communication preferences:
  1. Pull up their Patient Info.
    1. (Patient Card) Search for the patient and pull up their Patient Card, then click on the Patient Info tab.
    2. (Engage) Go to the Engage module and open a conversation with that patient, then look at the right-hand Patient Info panel.
  2. Scroll down to Communication Preferences.
  3. Click the Manage button beside Opt Out Settings.
  4. Check the box beside any type of message the patient would like to receive. Uncheck the box beside any type of message the patient would like to opt-out of.
  5. Click Save.
When your practice makes changes to a patient’s communication preferences, the patient will receive a confirmation message letting them know their settings have been updated and providing them with the link to make additional changes if needed. This message is optional and can be turned off in your Engage preferences. For more information, please see our Guide to Patient Communication Preferences.